DEFY TIME: BUY MIXX CENTURY

DEFY TIME: MIXX CENTURY
Image
It came just as predicted. December historically brings snow. No sign of global warming and right on time for a white christmas.  Perfecting timing is being at the right place at the right time. It is how most people fall in love. It is how most decisions are made.
Ansel Adam’s said: “Sometimes I arrive just when God’s ready to have somone click the shutter.”  I agree with that. I shot the second dusting of the year on my IPHONE.
Image

TIMELESS BEAUTY
MORNING 12-10-2013

I am still learning about shutter speed with the help of the internet. It doesn’t apply to a camera phone per say, but a simple trick is to know that good light and high shutter speeds go together. Phones have quick shutters. White reflects light. Snow is a win-win. Just try to take a bad picture of the snow.  I sure can’t. The best beauty is when our eyes can’t recognize if what they see is old or new. That’s why I also like black and white. I am proud of the shot.

Image

MIXX CENTURY
SHOP UNIQUE

The charm of what’s old is new, is never more alive then on the website MixxCentury.com. Readers who follow my blog know somewhere in the middle, I have to get across a hard sell. It pays for it all. If you log onto the Mixx Century website you can shop a curated collection of our goods and read a little Q & A I took part in.  Here’s a sample:

BCrh4LN0kgTL25-1

BUY TIME & MIRRORS
TICK TOCK SWIMMER’S CLOCK
$375.00

MIXX CENTURY Q:  Starting a collection/decorating your home can be overwhelming.  Any thoughts or advice?
SAMANTHA KNAPP A: [You might] Start with mirrors.  It proves you have ownership of a space because you are allowing your reflection to take hold.
IMG_8476 2

SNOW SELFIE
FEATURING FUR HAT

That’s my mirror image. It is ONLY a test-shot. It is a snap shot of a moment in time when I experimented with the mix of patterns, colors and textures. Design is liquid and matching too closely is predictable. Here’s another quote by me:

“You have to be open minded when you are “on the lookout,” because everything is not as it seems. What you are currently looking at has potential to be something else, so it goes without saying that looking from different perspectives leads to the best outcome.”–Samantha Knapp

IMG_8479

DOG PORTRAIT
FEATURING PUFF DOWN

Dan Ariely actually wrote the book.  “Predictably Irrational, The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions,”  is a stand out business and personal read.   It  doesn’t  explain why I posted a picture of my favorite dog dressed in a down & feather hooded coat.  But, it does explain why we fall in love with what we already have and why we focus on what we might lose, rather than what we might gain.

“Ownership is not limited to material things. It can also apply to points of view. Once we take ownership of an idea — whether it’s about politics or sports — what do we do? We love it perhaps more than we should. We prize it more than it is worth. And most frequently, we have trouble letting go of it because we can’t stand the idea of its loss. What are we left with then? An ideology — rigid and unyielding.”― Dan ArielyPredictably Irrational: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions

1470104_10152700448863484_981367490_n

TIMELESS BEAUTY
EVENING 12-10-2013

Let go. That’s the point I am trying to make. I did on this night. I decided not be afraid to loose what I considered a personal best in the photograph of the morning. I took the energy to beat it. I am just as happy if not more happy with the outcome. To think, I thought the night wouldn’t provide the same opportunity. It defys me. It defys time.

#ONELOVE

Leave a Reply

