BEFORE & AFTER: THE BUSINESS OF MAKING: FISH & CHIPS

BEFORE & AFTER: THE BUSINESS OF MAKING: FISH & CHIPS

Forbes Thought Of The Day

“What is best for people is what they do for themselves. ”— Benjamin Franklin

securedownload

HORT BUSINESS WOMAN HAIR
SELFIE-COURTESY
STEVE JOBS-IPHONE

I read Forbes. I look for ideas, leadership and answers daily. This blog has always been a business experience on a personal level. Ground Zero if you will, the most balanced and strongest point. At zero there is no money include. The samanthaknapp.wordpress blog for me is that platform. On many levels, it is a free shared experience. Executed effectively, this business model is the most effective of its kind.

970769_161538977364228_1236723136_n

MODEL GRADUATE
GOLDMAN SACHS: 10KSB

I went to small business school, albeit Goldman Sachs.  CNNMoney.com suggests Lloyd Blankfein got a 75% raise in 2012 culminating in an earning package of $21 million for the fiscal year. I would like to think a brand like that can give me tools to grow. Beer can feed your growth.

As a woman business owner, I constantly have to evaluate what trend my client is responding to. It is always one client, seen as the whole. More specifically, where & how is she spending on the image of her family’s life? How much does she spend on her home? The question applies whether she works or not by-the-way. I am a liberal working woman. I support feminists.  I have every intention of being a working wife.

photo copy

BUSINESS & BLOG GROWTH SPURT
http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com

I applied this awareness to my blog, with surprising results. I blog about interior design. On the 28th, I shared from my personal recipe archive. I unknowingly  expanded the lifestyle brand. I captured an audience three-times my normal reach. That’s a 66% new audience share. “Creativity is just connecting things.” that’s from critical thinker Steve Jobs. A strict vegetarian influenced by Arnold Ehret book The Mucusless Diet Healing System, I am fully aware this recipe would not be his thing 🙂

MY RECIPE FISH & CHIPS

1. ONE BOTTLE BEER.

Chose your preferred beer. I selected Sierra Nevada. Though the acutal mountain range itself is quite dense, the Pale Ale has a logger influence in a light taste.

Image

TIP-BEFORE
BEER FOR THE SOUL
GROWS WITH FLOUR

#2 POUR INTO BOWL

Image

TIP
POUR BEER & FLOUR INTO BOWL
ADD SPICE & MIX

#3 MIX

I am a self taught cook, so the recipe is as much about my natural flavor profiles as it can be yours. Combine two-cups of flour and a pinch of baking soda to the beer then mix.  The yeast gives the fluffy rise. The flour is the perfect neutral backdrop for layers of spice. It has potential.  There is an organic opportunity to add another layer of taste.  It is important to try here. It is a business attitude applied to life. Don’t ever think you can’t.

“I think if you do something and it turns out pretty good, then you should go do something else wonderful, not dwell on it for too long. Just figure out what’s next.” — Steve Jobs

Image

TIP
ADD SPICE & MIX…again
NEW RESULTS

#4 ADD SPICE

#5 CREATE A SAUCE

The story behind fish and chips is an English one. A stock & hearty meal for the working class, it was also one of the few foods not rationed during World War II. Served in disposal-recycled newspapers reinforced the fruagality of it all. That’s the bittersweet history, now you have to use that taste and make it new.

The creative sauce gives you ownership of your product. The product we are serving is Pepper Infused Beer Battered Cod Fish with a basil & beef reduction sauce served alongside parmesan dusted yucca fries.  The sauce is a bit of grees, spices, garlic clove, onion, beef brooth and orange juice. Blend then heat. Try a few combinations before you are absolutely satisfied.

Jobs said, “Details matter, it’s worth waiting to get it right.”

Image

TIP
MIX COD & BATTER
NEW PRODUCT RESULTS

#6 THE MIX

“If you keep your eye on the profit, you’re going to skimp on the product. But if you focus on making really great products, then the profits will follow.“–Steve Jobs

Life is the perfect mix. It is the balance. It is knowing that one foot supports the other. Loose a load-bearing wall and the building falls down. I am learning that on the job at http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com. I make money as a business owner and self-proclaimed expert interior designer, furniture & pillow designer.  I am now sharing my widespread passion for life style just for the thrill.  I don’t get paid for blogging and yet most days it feels like the most important daily statement I will make.

At Tiger Lily’s the image of lifestyle is the product. It is not my own. The brand stands alone,  built by a dynamic husband and wife who are my parents. We sell customized. A select consumer buys. The buyer has to have loved the classic chose your own adventure books, for starters. Only serious inquiries should apply. It is the beat to the different drummer person. It is the celebration of hand-made artisans producing daily, one-of-a-kind.

Image

TIP
GIVE THE RELATIONSHIP TIME
COOK UNTIL GOLDEN BROWN

#7 COOK UNTIL GOLDEN BROWN

If you really look closely, most overnight successes took a long time. Once you have identified what you want to do in business, life, cooking…find your inner patience and dedicated strength. Only the strong survive. It takes time to gather and mix the ingredients. It steals moments and it makes you chose. It takes time to marinate and develop a flavor profile. You won’t know what it tastes like until it arrives. That again is where patience comes in. Then, only then do you cook.

Entrepreneurs who don’t make it lack a steadfast dedication and appreciation for leting the ingredients cook.

“’I’m convinced that about half of what separates the successful entrepreneurs from the non-successful ones is pure perseverance.’”–Steve Jobs 

Image

TIP-AFTER
ALWAYS ICE THE CAKE
DESIGN MATTERS

 

#7 SERVE WITH STYLE

I want to always give the impression that what I touch and put my time, energy and love into matters. At http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com, I package and deliver that. In my own home I do the same. It is just as important that who you are in your business world is who you are at home. Consistency and reliability are grounds for creative growth. I stacked the fried cod around a decorative fish bursting with yucca fries. Everything is topped off by the sauce. Always ice the cake.

“Design is not just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works.”–Steve Jobs.

I quoted a lot things Steve Jobs said a little past a year since his death.  I hope I quoted as much of my own. Original thinking is the constant here. It is my  recipe take away. Jobs pursued a passion to open people’s mind to more effectively share and communicate. The scale being sky-scraping or solid ground.

He left us a lot to consider and a lot to work with from his ground breaking products or carefully considered authorized biography by Walter Isaacson. Isaacson, it goes without saying evaluated for our consideration,  Benjamin Franklin, Albert Einstein and Henry Kissinger.  Read it. I did.

Unknown

“Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.”

#ONELOVE

 PS. THANKS STEVE FOR MY SELFIE

Leave a Reply

