BEFORE & AFTER POTATOES: PROCLAIMED THANKSGIVING COOK

….For each new morning with its light

IMG_8167

BEFORE & AFTER POTATOES: PROCLAIMED THANKSGIVING COOK

Turns out, I am bit of a cook. In honor of Thanksgiving, Ralph Waldo Emerson,  and Julia Child, the original homemaker on TV, I present Shepard’s Pie.  I am self taught in the kitchen by way of an amazing mother of a cook. Betsy, my mom, who I idolize put flavor combinations together naturally. She gave me that try-it attitude. Julia Child says, “The only real stumbling block is fear of failure. In cooking you’ve got to have a what-the-hell attitude.”

BEFORE:

I approach cooking like I approach my interior design. It has to come natural, it has to come from a place inside yourself you may not have recognized until you shined the light.

IMG_8138

BEFORE:
POTATOE OF POSSIBILITY
HAVE WHAT THE HELL ATTITUDE

Shepard’s Pie must have been my jam in another life time. The recipe is so old, I had it stored in my head. Or at least that was where the idea came from to google search a few starting tips. I suggest readers do the same. This is the hearty type food that puts winter meat on the bones and mr. potatoes on your head 🙂

IMG_8143

AFTER:
SHEPARD’S PIE
ICING ON THE CAKE

Tip #1 Start with potates and mash them like you were going to serve them alone.

That means flavor and fresh herbs. Make sure to have different colors in your food. You don’t have to know alot, just know to add green.  I mixed lemon juice, fresh dill, butter and tuffle oil into these mashers to bring  in a light feel.

IMG_8136

SHEPARD’S PIE
INSIDE OUT

Tip 2: Seperately cook the meat.

Being creative at any level is all about layers and pairing one thing or another.  I teach this when ever I get asked the question. It is also how I am able to cook. I apply the same rules to both fields.  At the same time I am mashing the potates in a seperate fry pan  I am browning chop meat with carrots, onions and peas. You have to flavor the meat. There are secrets in life I still must keep.

IMG_8150

THE FLAVOR BIBLE
COMBINE INGREDIENTS

Tip #3: Layer ingredients

Flavor profiles are meant to be matched. I am currently reading The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America’s Most Imaginative Chefs. . It is on sale at Amazon for $26.25. Spend over $35.00 on the site and the shipping is free. Shop my store, http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com and spend enough money on product and services, you are entitled to white-glove service. That’s me.

IMG_8155

BAKE BABE
TWO HEADS ARE BETTER THEN ONE

 Tip #4: Bake babe

It  means different things to different people. This one is about temperature to transform something inside.  You did bake a scrinky dink, right? . I like 350 degrees until it browns. Citizen Cope likes 107 degrees.  The present the lyrics:  “Your pain is killing me
cause it’s a hundred seven degrees I’m walkin, cause my life ain’t free.”

IMG_8162

THANKSGIVING
SHEPARD’S PIE
SERVES 1-8

AFTER: 

Tip #5 Count the steps on your fingers, that is all it takes

I didn’t brown these all the way. Make them ahead of time and heat.  I am saving these for loving, fulfilling company.

THANKSGIVING
That is all you can ask for in life. You want to be able to express yourself somehow. I like to think for me it is in a creative way and I like to think I am open enough to share the process.

On Thanksgiving, I have the utmost graditude. I am so thankful for all the support, love and inspiration that floods my spirit everyday. I will wake on Thanksgiving, like any other day with the same amount of graditude.

For each new morning with its light,
For rest and shelter of the night,
For health and food,
For love and friends,
For everything Thy goodness sends.

–Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-1882)

#ONE LOVE

Leave a Reply

