THE WEEKEND WARRIOR & THE POWER OF THE HOME DEPOT

WEEKEND WARRIOR & THE POWER OF THE HOME DEPOT
photo copy 3
 WEEKEND WARRIORS
DECORATE EARLY
I am not your typical weekend warrior. I love my weekday job. Quick plug, http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com.  The idea that I would escape it on the weekend and go bat shit crazy doesn’t fit. When you love what you do, days and weekends have no bounds. I am always creating and working at the same time. The weekend warrior decorates early.
photo copy 2
 POWER AT THE HOME DEPOT
The inspiration came from out trip to Home Depot, in temperatur conditions liberally called freezing.  Incidentally, the SEC rates Home Depot above its largest competition Lowe’s. It opened in 1978. The popular slogan “More Savings, More Doing” came in March, 2009.
photo copy 5
LAYER SEASONAL LOOKS

Here’s the stuff. I like a good mixture when I seasonally decorate. I try to layer month to month, so if there is something that I bought last month for the fall season, I wan to look for ways to incorporate in the design plan moving forward. That is layering. That is the talent. It is the same as being 5-years-old and stacking the most blocks or books.

IMG_8046

I am not an expert and there are a number of floral arrangements and designers, I am awestruck by. My approach is consistent with the way I decorate. I am all about sharing my experience and expertise. I wear a lot of hats. One includes HGTV.

TIGER LILY’S TIP #1

1. Work with opposites. They attract.

IMG_8052
TIP #1
COLORS
LOVE THEIR OPPOSITES

Marc Chagall said, “All colors are the friends of their neighbors and the lovers of their opposites.”  Stating the obvious he was a jewish modernist, beyond which his art moves generations and carries hidden messages inside.

chagall-ch
TIP #2 
SHOW CASE ANIMALS
CIRCUS HORSE, 1964
TIGER LILY’S TIP #2
2. Animals improve the show.
That is putting it mildly. Chagall did the study on Circus Horse. As a decorator, I want to incorporate animals always. It puts the human race in perspective and asks us to celebrate other DNA.

IMG_8057

OPEN YOUR MIND & FREE YOUR WINGS

We are all caged in somehow from Chagall’s circus ring to the plant fighting through the wire in the holiday setting I set out to create. The cage birds, says Maya  Angelou sings.  “Life is going to give you just what you put in it. Put your whole heart in everything you do, and pray, then you can wait.”

TIGER LILY’S TIP #3

3. Believe in the process

That’s huge. That is how is you decorate. Go to Home Depot, get inspired, but design in your cart. Bring it home, take a deep breath of the chill heavy air… That’s it now close your eyes and see you best holiday spirit every. Open your eyes. That is your legacy.

Leave a Reply

