TEACH THE CHILDREN WELL

TEACH THE CHILDREN WELL

photo

Walt Disney said, “I would rather entertain and hope that people learned something than educate people and hope they were entertained.” I love that perspective and in that vein, I welcomed the Greenwich High School interior design class. It has been a banner month for me and with as much as I have been given, I am a strong proponent of giving back and inspiring through my own design.

GREENWICH HIGH SCHOOL INTERIOR DESIGN FIELD TRIP

GREENWICH HIGH SCHOOL
INTERIOR DESIGN FIELD TRIP

If you have never been to our workroom, http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com, allow me to introduce the concept with this field trip and Disney inspired thought: Tiger Lilys is a land of creative imagineering where hand craftsmanship still takes place. I believe what the mind sees, can take place.

BEFORE: 

IMG_6610

BEFORE:
TIRED OLD CHAISE

 

I loved the actual size of this wicker chaise. It has double function. Someone can rest and read here and a child can sleep. That was the initial attraction. The texture was an added bonus point. When I am out looking for design inspiration, I have a set criteria.

1. What is the function?

2. What is the future?

3. Is it a fair price?

I like to educate when I can. It is a moment where you can think back and the road you have been on and offer a small glance into a listeners future. Before & Afters are my foundation after all and I think education is the grounds from which the future takes shape.

TEACHABLE MOMENT

TEACHABLE MOMENT

If you want to get better at something you have to learn. If you want to get better at something, you have to put in the hard work. I told my story to the High School kids the same way I told my story to Lonny Magazine and the same way I share it on my blog every day. I hope threw my entertaining the kids learned something.  We are all made up of moments that are big and small. It is hard to know in the middle of those moments what they will turn out to be.

TL_GH field trip 3

AFTER:

E2dzr8IMWcpl

AFTER:
LONNY MAGAZINE PROFILE
http://www.lonny.com

The moment I saw the chaise, I knew it was for me. I upholstered it in a faux snake cobra snake skin and added a tassel trim. The chaise sits in my master bedroom behind a glass coffee table, on top of a geometric rug, where a hot pink ombre tie-died custom throw sits.  On the table I have a shell, a symbol of protecting life, with new growth. I have a pair of love birds and a a candle.  Love, peace, happiness. Never stop learning and thank you again Lonny Magazine.
S o again, I close in admiration of those who have paved amazing paths in front of us. We learn from others and we pass it down.”If you can dream it, you can do it. Always remember that this whole thing was started with a dream and a mouse,” Walt Disney.

# ONE LOVE

Leave a Reply

