BEFORE & AFTER: THE PAST IS THE PRESENT

BEFORE & AFTER: THE PAST IS THE PRESENT

I like the sound of this, “The distinction beween the past, present and future is only a stubbornly persistent illusion.” It is one of Albert Einstein’s infinite and profound discoveries. It is up there with his Theory of Revelativity.  The speed of light is nonetheless invariant, the same for all observers.

TL_blog sams drapes 1

TIGER LILY’S GREENWICH
ORIGINAL, NEVER DUPLICATED

If it is only an illusion, then the past is just as much present as the current day. The drapes I bought in August 2013 were vintage B.Berger Jacques Toile from 1982. The insatiable trend for vintage is as popular in interior design as it is on the runway.

TL_blog sams drapes 3

CUSTOM WORK ROOM
TRADITION OF OLD STILL NEW

There is something special about a custom workroom, http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com. That’s Germania at the work table. She is our master-cutter.  We are preserving a trade that is hand made. That’s my fabric on the work table. More then 45 yards.

Back to August, when I first walked into the cottage. I knew it was home. I new it as much seeing the pictures as the day I met with Larry the Fabric Guy. The textile peddler from outside Boston came to visit nter again that peddler in August to our design workroom, http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com. There are still wonderful little traditions in this life that we come to count on. Larry the Fabric Guy is a regular at our store.

TL_blog sams drapes 2

MASTER BEDROOM
AT FIRST SITE

BEFORE:

That was the master bedroom of my cottage BEFORE. It was taken on my Iphone the first time I walked through the doors. I knew it was home.

Seven windows in one room is pure living and a ton of drapery fabric yardage. I have Larry The Fabric Guy.

TL_blog sams drapes 4

AFTER:
TOILE TELLS THE STORY

AFTER:

Toile tells the story. That is the after. That is lesson I learn and celebrate every day. On my drapes in the after is a vibrant historic toile. It is the story of a generation and a story that is all of my own. I am as proud of this after as I ever was.

It is the high light in the November issue of Lonny Magazine. That’s tomorrow. That is the day that my after will be celebrated nationwide.

Supporters, family, peers, trail blazers, readers, designers, peace makers, creatives, Lonny editors, photographers, god: I thank all of you.

Read it tomorrow: http://www.lonny.com

I quote Holly Golightly.

#ONE LOVE

Leave a Reply

