BEFORE & AFTER: ROBSHAW TO THE RESCUE

Image

BEFORE:
REUPHOLSTERY WANTED

BEFORE & AFTER:ROBSHAW TO THE RESCUE

BEFORE: The chair is pink but it is also green. I love when a client reupholsters an older piece. It a way to recycle, reuse and renew furniture that might otherwise end up in a land fill.

Conscious living, celebrating the earth and everything that abounds is a lifestyle choice. I believe that clients that reupholster with http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com live with awareness and can appreciate preservation.

logo-inside

With this in mind, I selected a John Robshaw fabric for this. John is a friend, preservationist, eco-conscious creator and cultural champion. His line of  textiles, bedding and home accessories are a study of his travels and evoke happy and brilliant thought.  He once said:

“By producing my textiles abroad, I get to become a minor character in the lives of the people I work with, and I can take inspiration from what I see and do there. I go to their weddings, celebrate their festivals, I get sick with them, I develop relationships with the people who are teaching me. When you look at my textiles, its like you’ve been on the world tour along with me.”

Image

JOHN ROBSHAW
ALGIERS LOTUS

 The chair already had a powder pink fabric on it. To keep it simple and working with the existing interior of the home, I picked a fabric with a hotter pink punch that Robshaw features in “Algiers Lotus.” I paired it with a Fushia welting that we created from Robert Allen’s Cabin Weave.

 

Image

PAIRED WITH WELTING
ROBERT ALLEN: CABIN WEAVE

AFTER:
The finished result of this chair is whimsy and fresh. I love the detail of the welting that brings out the darker hues in the dye. Robshaw uses artisans to print his textiles so no two are ever quite the same. The welt helps add reference to the color and brings a decorative feature to life.

Image

AFTER:
HIGHLIGHT DECORATIVE WELT

 

 

r1PXeYhA1GjNz4x8BjPaX4_eBSo7HNujdHbhNupdH7I

AFTER:
REUPHOLSTERED AND RENEWED

I leave most blogs with a quote. Today I leave one from John Robshaw who upon contemplating his choices in colors and patterns had this to say:  “I have a chaotic color sense.  It helps me come up with more unusual palettes-for better or worse!”

Thanks John for pushing the boundaries. It helps us all be daring and bold!

##ONE LOVE

Leave a Reply

