BEFORE & AFTER: A MIRROR’S IMAGE

 

 

BEFORE & AFTER: A MIRROR’S IMAGE

federal-mirror-before

BEFORE:
AMERICAN HISTORY X

BEFORE:
This is a mirror of Monticello. I see it clearly hanging on the walls of the historic presidential retreat. It signifies everything that is America. Thomas Jefferson, the Declaration of Independence and critical thinking that brought about ideals of life, liberty, equality and the pursuit of happiness.

I bought the look and feelings the style and shape evoke. It is a American Federal Style Convex mirror with eagle surmount ca. first half of the 20th century.

federal mirror after

AFTER:  The finish needed an update to work with contemporary color stories. I chose a blue to play off  Red, White & Blue of american heritage. In small and meaningful placement, it brings out the details of the Eagle, leaves and bullets.  I painted directly over the old finish to give layers of color and age and play to the idea that change can happen by working with what is existing, rather then starting from scratch.

federal mirror after 2

AFTER:
THE FUTURE OF AMERICA

I like to leave all blogs with a quote. For this, I select Thomas Jefferson. Jefferson said, “I like the dreams of the future better than the history of the past.” Think ahead and plan the outcome. Jefferson saw and put in motion ideals and platforms for the perfect society to grow and be nourished in. I am forever thankful to live and work in this wonderful country USA. It is has returned to me as much as I have given. I hope it has done the same for you!

##ONE LOVE

Leave a Reply

