BEFORE & AFTER: OH DEER YOU NEED A MAKEOVER

OH DEER YOU NEED A MAKEOVER

Deerly beloved we are gathered here today to discuss a quick & stylish BEFORE & AFTER on a pair of mounted deer antlers. In the interest of reusing, renewing and revitalizing I decided to bring these antlers back to life. A small tribute to a little guy that paid the piper, or in this case a hunter, with his life.

CHOC0Eo9H_lWpIiqfwatwa-9zFtc3q3Lr90f9v_qeIU

BEFORE:
OH DEER YOU NEED A MAKEOVER

 

BEFORE:
I found this set of antlers at the Elephant’s Trunk Flea Market in Danbury. If you have never been, make it a point to get there in the summer months! It is a huge lot with aisles of vendors selling antiques, oddities and, frankly, sometimes just junk.

jgXaO8o5oGL0pt0PBEOIWRsZ6pzuMewa1MEU6IGSY6Y

I decided to white wash the plaque then sand the edges to create a still old rustic look. I concealed the center skull area (gross but true) with a piece of cowhide, secured by french natural nails.

55

AFTER:
BUY ME: ONE KINGS LANE
SALE STARTS TOMORROW, TASTEMAKER “SAMANTHA KNAPP”

AFTER:
I like to think like a cat- we are all capable of more than one life.  I am on a second incarnation myself if you will. Transiting from a reporter for television news to an interior designer has been a exciting and proud move. I am excited to celebrate my new successes with a One Kings Lane “TASTEMAKER” sale tomorrow starting at 11:00AM EST.  If we’re lucky, like me,  you’ll have a few more opportunities to reinvent yourself and try to accomplish something you never thought you would do.

When possible, I try to end blogs with a quote. For that, I move from Deer to Cat…Maggie the Cat, from Tennessee Williams Cat on a Hot Tin Roof:

“I’ve got the guts to die. What I want to know is, have you got the guts to live?”

#ONE LOVE

Leave a Reply

