BEFORE & AFTER: DON’T FRET, OLD STOOLS CAN LOOK NEW

Image

COSCO
VINTAGE MID-CENTURY MODERN
MADE IN USA BRAND

 

BEFORE & AFTER: DON’T FRET, OLD STOOLS CAN LOOK NEW

BEFORE:

In the 1950s, Cosco Metal Furniture,  in Columbus, Indiana lead the industry in manufacturing sensible functional furniture for the home and office. Made in the USA and made well, the furniture turns up in vintage sales and antique stores in almost perfect condition. I found these four bar stools with original COSCO branding and brought them back to our custom workroom, http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com.

Image

BEFORE:
COSCO BAR STOOLS
SET OF FOUR

What I like about the stools is the simple lines, mix metals, functional swivel and the scale. The more the merrier when it comes to areas where people congregate.  At a bar or kitchen counter, I prefer four small seats then three over-sized stools. Image

Tiger Lilys Tip #1: When we recreate vintage pieces we always take them down to the bone. In some cases, we can salvage some of the inside materials if it makes sense for the piece. In this case we went with new foam for the back and the seat.

Image

TIGER LILY’S REUPHOLSTERY TIP
BRING PIECE DOWN TO ITS BONES

To transform these stools, I wanted to balance the vintage by introducing an element that was entirely new.  I selected a new 5″ tape by Samuel & Sons. It is from a 2013 collection, called Greek Fret Embroidered Border. I used the camel tone. For this project, I wanted to use the tape in an unconventional way. It is applied as an appliqué.

Image

SAMUEL & SONS
GREEK FRET EMBROIDERED BORDER

AFTER:

The final result is a beautiful update on these midcentury modern stools.

Image

AFTER:
A BIT OF OLD MEETS NEW

I try to visualize when creating where I believe a piece of furniture’s next home would be. Finished, I see these stools in a kitchen setting in a contemporary space that plays off neutral tones. They make a great statement in this picture but they can still be yours!

Image

BUY ME:
STOOLS ON ONE KINGS LANE
SALE STATS JULY 10th @ 11AM EST.

I am always excited when One Kings Lane invites me for a Tastemaker’s Sale. This time, I am showcasing special pieces that I hand selected and hand created using the tips of my very special custom trade. The sale starts on July 10th @ https://www.onekingslane.com. Look for my name and spend friends, spend :). For more information on Tiger Lily’s you can visit our website, http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com.

Leave a Reply

