Image

CASTING A SPELL IN THE FORM OF A HEX

BEFORE & AFTER: CASTING A SPELL: IN THE FORM OF A HEX

I wanted to do something new. Something that I had never seen done before. The definition of Hex is to cast a spell and bewitch. I like the idea that something can be so appealing to the eye that it literally cast a spell and becomes a must buy. It was fitting to start with the shape of a Hexagon.

qjFWRPufUcvYW3fFbtp47NFS8kEKlxzFxo4gALvwRkA

BEFORE:
HEXAGON BASE IN RAW STEEL

Working with a shape in mind, I then backed into some simple math to get the height, shape and angles to work. I wanted a standard finished height near 19.5″. I had my welder mount inside brackets for concealed legs and positioning to mount the upholstered seat.

Image

AFTER:
FINISHED BASE WITH UPHOLSTERED SEAT
MONGOLIAN SHEEP PELT

Once we had the shape and the seat set, I brainstormed fabrics to cover the upholstered seat. My design style is always deep in contrasts so I went for organic hide against manufactures’ metal, deconstructed finished against measured angles. To unify the juxtaposition, I kept the elements joined in neutral gray tones.

When opposites attract only good things come of a space. The finished product of the hexagon ottoman is that magic spell, I was trying to achieve when I set out to create the shape. I love the way the piece fits in this contemporary Westside Apartment. The play of textures and materials adds balance to the neutral tones that are layered in the living space. ¬†Andy Warhol said, “The most exciting attractions are between two opposites that never meet.” I like the way that sounds and how it develops when we set our minds into creating new forms and pieces that are sculptural perhaps like art, but on which you plop down and have a seat.

#ONE LOVE

BEFORE & AFTER: CASTING A SPELL IN THE FORM OF A HEX

Leave a Reply

