BEFORE & AFTER: A VANE LITTLE VANITY

vanity 1

A VANE LITTLE VANITY

BEFORE & AFTER: A VANE LITTLE VANITY

BEFORE:

Call it vane, but this little vanity wanted to look good. It’s a little treasure I discovered at a little antique store North of Greenwich, CT. I give away a lot of little secrets but my super special stomps are a secret I still need to keep!  What I will scream and shout,  is the price of  this bad news bench. I got it for $55.00!

IMG_6196

BEFORE:
BAD NEWS BENCH

I thought tired teddy bear when I first brought it back into the workroom at http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com. It had stuffing coming out and was all sorts of browns. The first thing I wanted to do was lighten the frame up. I decided to paint.  To paint or not paint is generally an easy answered question. When the frame has nice decorative details, I always say yes. Carving in wood can conceal mistakes and adds elements where highlights and lowlights in your painting style can be achieved. The piece had great lines, especially the fluting in the legs.

IMG_6231

FRESH LOOK STARTS WITH A COAT OF PAINT

The paint treatment is has a few steps involved. I started with a white-wash, then sanded down to reveal some of the original wood. I then focused on the carved details and when in with a golden artisan finish paint. Using a small brush and wiping excess as I went, I brush on the finish then wiped it back off. It the old “wax” on “wax” off from the original Karate Kid.  

IMG_6232

PAINT TIP:
KARATE KID STYLE
WAX “ON” WAX “OFF”

The  bench was then gutted and reupholstered in China Seas New Batik in Turquoise.  The entire piece took one yard of fabric with the medallions centers on the seat and back.

vanity 2

UPHOLSTERED:
CHINA SEAS NEW BATIK

China Seas in an amazing and fairly exclusive brand. The minimum order on most fabrics is five-yards and each piece is printed to order with the richest and vibrant colors available in textiles.

vanity 3

AFTER:
WWW.TIGERLILYSGREENWICH.COM

AFTER:

I shot a few different angles of this vanity bench. Webster’s defines vane as “Excessive pride in or admiration of one’s own appearance or achievements.” I think in this case rightfully so! The bench deserves to be seen and celebrated as something that was truly transformed from old to new.  Vanity isn’t a bad thing!

IMG_8077

VANITY:
BABE LOOK AT ME NOW 🙂

 

I leave you all with a quote as I close most of my BEFORE & AFTER blogs with.  From Gunter Grass in The Tin Drum comes this: “You are vain and wicked- as a genius should be.” When it comes to design, take the good, the bad and the ugly. With a little creativity or genius you can create something to boast about. So what if people call that vanity!

 

Leave a Reply

