Image

BEFORE & AFTER: I G-OTTOMAN!

I maybe single but “I G-Ottoman!” The ottoman below came into the http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com workroom as a giveaway. You can get a sense of why given the stains and the dated fabric.

Image

BEFORE:
I G-OTTOMAN

As a single girl living in the city and working in the suburbs, I like to keep my options open. Everything and everyone I see has potential. It is the old glass half-full trick. I liked this giveaway ottoman immediately.

BEFORE:

The appeal was the tufts and the wooden legs with castors.

Image

TUFT IN MUSLIN FIRST
ADD FABRIC NEXT

Even with the tufts already in place, we still take every piece down to the frame to ensure the quality of the interior foam, dacron and webbed seat. This is where you begin to see the difference in quality of what you buy. In this particular case, there was no muslin between the fabric and the base. That is the first indication of a cheap job. Or in terms that relate to dating, it like going out for first cocktails with a guy only to discover he is a recovering boozer who doesn’t drink. This is how everything and everyone gets weeded out 🙂

Image

LAY OUT THE PATTERN
THEN CLOSE THE SIDES

I chose a think natural Belgium linen to reupholster the ottoman with. When you are working with deep tufts, it is up to the upholster to fold the fabric evenly, make sure the sizing on the tufts are the same and pull evenly across the frame.

Image

HAND TUFTING
TIP OF THE TRADE
“MEASURE THE FOLDS”

This takes time and experience and when complete you can clearly distinguish between hand & machine tufts. Inside the tuft we finish with a button in the same fabric as the face.

The outcome is stunning. Back to the dating analogy or perspective its that moment that makes you smile when you leave thinking, “I am glad I gave that guy a shot.”

Image

TUFTS FINISH WITH BUTTON

Image

IN YOUR FACE BABY:
SQUARE TUFTS

AFTER:

How do you know which and what everything and everybody is meant for you? I say it is in the details and what people but forth that makes it special and unique.  I finished this ottoman with a french natural nailhead design that connected a string of squares. We centered the pattern on the center tufts and worked out way out in a measured repeated line.

Image

AFTER:
TUFTED OTTOMAN WITH SQUARE NAIL DETAIL
BUY ME: http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com

I like to finish the blog with a quote and I think after looking at this after, It feels like I should kick up my feet and do just that. “I g-ottoman” just not a man. Dating ladies and gents is tough, so I leave you with this:

“Life is hard enough as it is without choosing someone difficult to share it with”
― Greg BehrendtHe’s Just Not That Into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys

#ONE LOVE

                  BEFORE & AFTER: I G-OTTOMAN!I maybe single but…

Leave a Reply

