MONDAY MAKEOVER: BEFORE & AFTER: THAT’S MY BOO

pic 3

MONDAY MAKEOVER: BEFORE & AFTER: THAT’S MY BOO

2013-05-30 16.19.36

BEFORE:
LAYERS DEEP

Laura at Tiger Lily’s (www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com) uses “Boo” to describe her “Boo.” Boo is the nickname for her boyfriend Brandon Deaderick. They are adorable together. He’s playing ball for the Jacksonville Jags down South and she’s up here in Greenwich, CT helping me in the design studio and custom workroom and helping me get a handle on slang. Boo means boyfriend folks over 25. For a while there, I had a Boo too!  Laura programmed JT into my phone with that name, until he broke up with me. What can I say but BOO-HOO.

BEFORE:

So my new Boo. I am talking Bamboo. When I got this table it had layers upon layers of white paint. It actually was hard to distinguish if there was actual wood and grain beneath.

2013-05-30 16.21.03

BEFORE:
THAT’S MY BOO

I brought the table into http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com and hit it with paint thinner and a striping agent. The layers were so thick I needed both chemicals. The trick is to wait it out and let layers peel back. I only wish I could say the same about my relationship. That relationship was only surface.

2013-05-30 16.22.24

BRUSH WITH PAINT THINNER
WAIT AND LET LAYERS PEEL

Once the layers start to peel you can take a blade and scrape the paint away. When you are working with chemicals it is important to use gloves and a face mask. Paint thinner smells fierce and burns your skin at raw touch.

2013-05-30 16.20.01

USE PROTECTION WHEN YOU STRIP

AFTER:

I keep some of the paint for intergreity to show the history of this piece. I like the combination of the paint layers positioned against the natural texture of the revealed bamboo. Just like relationships, the golden moment is when the core personality or structure is revealed. For love to be right, you have to appreciate and cherish what you see. BAM! That’s my take on love. Now where’s my  Boo 🙂

pic 2

AFTER:
PUTTING THE “BAM” IN BOO
BUY ME: http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com

I end most my blogs with a quote. From the art of doing to the art of love.

“It is good to love many things, for therein lies the true strength, and whosoever loves much performs much, and can accomplish much, and what is done in love is well done.”
― Vincent van Gogh

 

Print

If you want more, you’ve got it… Fund my campagin on Rockethub. I am trying to write all this down in a book 🙂

http://www.rockethub.com/projects?query=sam+on+the+scene

ONE LOVE##

Leave a Reply

