BEFORE & AFTER: LOOKS EASY TO DO

Image

THE LOOK
LACQUERED END TABLES

BEFORE & AFTER: IN THE END-TABLE WE GOT THE LOOK 

In the end we got the look. Among the greatest joys of “before” and “afters” is finding a luxury look you love and getting it for less. Inspired by a East Hampton home featured in the June issue of Architectural Digest, I went in search of a sleek pair of end tables, that I could revitalize with a pop lacquer look. 

Image

BEFORE:
MIDCENTURY MODERN END TABLES
$150.00 PAIR

BEFORE:

I like to cover three-bases when I hunt for pieces of furniture to lacquer paint.

  1. CONDITION CHECK: May sure the body of the piece is in pretty good shape. Paint hides a lot but can’t conceal the warp in wood or missing veneer.
  2. FORGET THE FINISH: Look at the bones, after all the finish is the first to go! 
  3. LOOK AT THE LINES: Lines and scale matter.  Look for that first
Image

ALL THREE BASES
HOME RUN

The tables I found covered all three bases and were a serious home run. I brought them over to Charly Oz at Patti’s Portico at 140 Highland Street. Charly is wizard when it comes to powder coat finishes. I spent a little more then double what I paid for the pair.

Image

AFTER:
LACQUER POWDER COAT
GREAT IN GREEN

AFTER:

Finished the pair look exactly like the those on AD MAGAZINE. A total “look for less” transformation if I do say so myself! Let this be inspiration my friends! Get shopping, get your creative juices flowing and get in touch with me if you need advice. #ONE LOVE 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

