BEFORE & AFTER: YUCKY YELLOW CANE CHAIR

BEFORE & AFTER: YUCKY YELLOW CANE CHAIR

When I shop vintage, I often come across french style furniture frames with an aged yellow finish.  I know you treasure seekers and pickers across the world know exactly what I am talking about! It is a thick yellow with gold, manufacturer’s number that time-freezes the frame in the 1970s.

"BEFORE"

“BEFORE”

I love this frame for a woman’s dressing room or as an occasional side chair in a living room. There are a few features that made this chair special including that five-leg structre with shell-style carving and elongated back. She (this chair) has legs and knows how to use them!  I also loved that the caning on the back was still in place. When you are looking at pieces with up-life potential, the quality of the caning is important. If it is broken, hand caning and repairs can begin at $250.00.

"AFTER"

“AFTER”

I used a gray-hued paint to kill the base yellow color. I had the option to strip the piece first but when I can, I tend to save the existing paint to add to the layering opportunity. I sanded the piece down in areas that I wanted to highlight and hand finished those areas with white and silver highlights. The upholstery is Dedar’s Casabalanca which has a wonderful raise stitched geometeric pattern.

CASAB__001.proportional_1000x1000_q90

DEDAR: CASABLANCA

For more information on upholstery, interior design, before & after and buying the after, visit our website http://www.tigerlilysgreenwich.com.

Leave a Reply

